Xtreme Polo League 2019

5:51 PM Sandra Gutrejde 0 Comments

The first edition of the Xtreme Polo League (XPL), a new and innovative worldwide annual polo event, will kick off on Wednesday, September 25th, 2019. It will consist of 8 games that will be played at the Argentine Polo Association in Pilar, province of Buenos Aires. 

This first edition will feature six professional franchises between 28 and 34 goals. The tournament will be played with a new set of rules, in order to make the sport much more dynamic:

° Field direction won't be changed after a goal is scored. Instead, the change will be set at the start of each chukka, that will start with a midfield thrown-in.
° After a goal is scored, the match will re start from 40 yards.
° There will be a semi circular line of 80 yards; goals scored at that distance will be worth double.
° The tournament will be played on handicap and the players change will have no limit.

In addition, new emerging polo players will be able to play along with those who already play the Triple Crown. That's why lineups are not allowed to have more than two 10-goalers in each lineup, and the minimum individual handicap is 4 goals.

The XPL will use the franchise system that is currently successful in other sports, such as Formula 1 or NBA. It will be televised by Turner and its several subsidiaries.

Participating teams:

League 1

Las Monjitas: Facundo Sola 9, Hilario Ulloa 10, Guillermo Caset Jr 9, Tomás Panelo 5. Total: 33.
La Albertina Abu Dhabi: Agustín Merlos 8, Francisco Elizalde 8, Ignacio Toccalino 8, Alfredo Cappella Barabucci 8. Total: 32.
La Ensenada: Juan M. Zavaleta Jr 8, Lucas Díaz Alberdi 7, Joaquín Pittaluga 8, Bautista Bayugar 8. Total: 31.

League 2
Ellerstina: Camilo Castagnola 6, Gonzalo Pieres Jr 9, Bartolomé Castagnola Jr 7, Facundo Pieres 10. Total: 32.
La Aguada: Victorino Ruiz Jorba 6, Alfredo Bigatti 8, Miguel Novillo Astrada 8, Ignatius du Plessis 8. Total: 30.
La Pegasus Polo International: Valerio Zubiaurre Jr 8, Pablo Llorente Jr 6, Mariano Aguerre 8, Martín Aguerre (h) 7. Total: 29.

Fixture (Results in red):

Wednesday, September 25
1:00 pm: Las Monjitas 17 vs. La Ensenada 10 (Match 1 - League 1)
3:00 pm: La Aguada 13 vs. La Pegasus Polo International 10 (Match 2 - League 2)

Saturday, September 28
1:00 pm;: La Albertina 10 vs. La Ensenada 9 (League 1)
3:00 pm: Ellerstina 18 vs. La Pegasus Poo International 17 (League 2)

Wednesday, October 2 - Suspended for rain
New date: Thursday, October 3
1:00 pm: La Albertina 14 vs. Las Monitas 15 (League 1)
3:00 pm: Ellerstina 14 vs. La Aguada 12 (League 2)

Saturday, October 5 Suspended for rain
New date:  Sunday, October 6
12:30 pm: Match for 3rd and 4th place - La Aguada 11 vs La Albertina Abu Dhabi 10
3:00 pm: Final XPL 2019 - Las Monjitas 12 vs Ellerstina 15
Ellerstina Champion of the 2019 Xtreme Polo League

The schedule is subject to change depending on weather conditions. Check for updates in case of rain.

Don´t miss the opportunity of attending this world class event and experience Polo the Argentine way. Contact me so I can arrange transportation for you, or your Exclusive Polo Experience with transportation and specialized guide.

You Might Also Like