116th Argentine Open Polo Championship 2009

1:49 PM Sandra Gutrejde 10 Comments

Saturday, November 14, 2009, will mark the start of the most important polo tournament in the world, the 116th Argentine Open Polo Championship (Abierto Argentino de Polo, or just "El Abierto"), that will take place until December 5, 2009. This tournament, held every year at the Campo Argentino de Polo in Palermo (Av. del Libertador & Dorrego), brings together the best polo players in the world, and it is one of the oldest and most prestigious events in the international polo calendar. It is also one of the main social events in Buenos Aires.

"Abonos" (full set of tickets for the 7 dates) for the 116th Argentine Polo Open are on sale through Ticketek Argentina until November 13th, 2009. Tickets for the individual matches will continue, subject to availability after the sale of the "abonos", from November 14th to December 5th, 2009. Tickets for the main matches and the best seats can get sold out in just a few hours, specially for the final match on December 5th.

Participating teams:

Zone A:
Ellerstina Etiqueta Negra: Facundo Pieres 10, Gonzalo Pieres (Jr) 10, Pablo Mac Donough 10, Juan Martín Nero 10. Total: 40.
Pilará Piaget: Agustín Merlos 10 , Santiago Chavanne 8, Sebastián Merlos 9, Marcos Heguy 10. Total: 37.
Indios Chapaleufú II: Alberto Heguy (Jr) 8, Ignacio Heguy 9, David Stirling (Jr) 8, Eduardo Heguy 9. Total: 34.
Alegría: Frederick Mannix (Jr) 6, Francisco Bensadón 8, Juan I. Merlos 9, Luke Tomlinson 8. Total: 31.

Zone B:
La Dolfina Peugeot: Adolfo Cambiaso (Jr) 10, Lucas Monteverde (Jr) 10, Mariano Aguerre 10, Bartolomé Castagnola 10. Total: 40.
La Aguada Tupungato Winelands: Javier Novillo Astrada 9, Eduardo Novillo Astrada (Jr) 9, Miguel Novillo Astrada 10, Ignacio Novillo Astrada 9. Total: 37.
Chapa Uno Hope Funds: Rodrigo Ribeiro de Andrade 8, Hilario Ulloa 8, Bautista Heguy 9, Francisco de Narváez (h) 9. Total: 34.
El Paraíso: Guillermo Caset (Jr) 8, Ignacio Toccalino 8, Mariano González 8, Alejandro Novillo Astrada 7. Total: 31.


Date 1
Saturday, November 14 (Zone A):
2:00 PM: Ellerstina vs Alegria (1)
4.00 PM: Pilará vs Indios Chapaleufú II (2)
Ellerstina 20 - Alegria 15
Pilará 16 - Indios Chapaleufú II 15

Date 2
Sunday, November 15 (Zone B):
2:00 PM: La Dolfina vs El Paraiso (3)
4:00 PM: La Aguada vs Chapa Uno (4)
La Dolfina 21 - El Paraiso 8
La Aguada 13 -Chapa Uno 9

Date 3
Saturday, November 21: SUSPENDED DUE TO RAIN
Date 4
Sunday, November 22: SUSPENDED DUE TO RAIN 
Date 3
Friday, November 27: SUSPENDED DUE TO RAIN 

New dates:
Date 4
Saturday, November 28 (Zone B)
2:00 PM: La Aguada vs El Paraiso
4:00 PM: La Dolfina vs Chapa Uno
La Aguada 18 - El Paraiso 12 
La Dolfina 15 - Chapa Uno 14 

Date 3
Wednesday, December 2 (Zone A)
2:00 PM: Pilará vs Alegria
4:00 PM: Ellerstina vs Indios Chapaleufu II
Pilará 17 - Alegria 14
Ellerstina 14 - Indios Chapaleufu II 13

For organization reasons, the 6th date will be played before the 5th date:

Date 6
Saturday, December 5 (Zone B)
2:00 PM: El Paraiso vs Chapa Uno
Result: El Paraiso 13 - Chapa Uno 12
4:00 PM: La Dolfina vs La Aguada SUSPENDED DUE TO RAIN 

Date 5
Sunday, December 6 (Zone A):
2:00 PM: Alegria vs Indios Chapaleufu II
4:00 PM: Ellerstina vs Pilará
Indios Chapaleufu II 15 - Alegria 14
Ellerstina 15 - Pilara 13

The match suspended on December 5 will be played on:
Monday, December 7
5:00 PM: La Dolfina vs La Aguada
Result: La Dolfina 18 - La Aguada 13

For the first time in its 116 years of history, two 40-goal teams will meet at the final of the Argentine Open. 

Final: Saturday, December 12

LA DOLFINA champion of the 116th Argentine Open.
With a golden goal by Mariano Aguerre in the supplementary chukker, La Dolfina defeated Ellerstina in the first 80-goal final in this historic tournament. 

You Might Also Like


  1. Anonymous11/08/2009

    How can I get tickets for the Open just for the 21st and 22nd of November 2009. It is impossible for me to use Ticketek as I don't understand Spanish. I look forward to your response. Kind Regards Sam

  2. Sam,
    Tickets for November 21st and 22nd will go on sale on November 16 at Ticketek offices, or on the same day of the match at the Palermo Polo field, subject to availability.
    I hope this helps, if you need anything else don't hesitate to email me.

  3. Anonymous11/13/2009

    Hi Sandra,

    I would like to go tomorrow (14th November) to watch the first game. What is the best way to go about getting tickets and what time do matches start? I have had a look around on the internet but haven't had much luck. Thank you, Annie

  4. Annie
    Tickets are on sale through www.ticketek.com.ar, online or at their offices.
    Tomorrow they will be on sale at the stadium's box office from the morning. Above you can see the times of all the matches.

  5. I was hoping to purchase a DVD copy of the 2008 Argie Open and also for 2009 obviously once the finals have been played. Where can I buy these from? Kind Regards Jodi

  6. Jodi
    Ticketek is selling the DVDs of all the finals from 1996 to 2008, but they don't deliver outside Argentina. I don't if they are on sale somewhere else.
    I hope this helps.

  7. Anonymous12/05/2009

    Hi there,

    Do you happen to know when they will play the games scheduled for today (5th December) but will be cancelled due to the rain?

  8. Hi,
    At least until now (12.20 pm, Dec. 5th) the matches have not been canceled and the date is going to be played. Please check again for updates, I will post as soon as there is any other news.

  9. Hi,

    Just wondering if you knew who won the MVP and Best Playing Pony Awards from the final on Saturday 12th - can't seem to find this information on the web!

    Kind regards - Jodi

  10. Hi Jodi
    The MVP in the final was for Pablo Mac Donough; The award for the top goal scorer in the championship was for Adolfo Cambiaso (Jr). He also received the cup Lady Susan Townley for his mare Dolfina Cuartetera, considered as the best horse in the tournament.
    The award Gonzalo Tanoira for the best mounted in the tournament was for Adolfo Cambiaso (Jr) and the award Fomento Equino for the best mounted in the final was also for Cambiaso.
    Source: Argentine Polo Association