First International Violin Competition, Buenos Aires 2010

1:21 PM Sandra Gutrejde 0 Comments

The First International Violin Competition, Buenos Aires 2010, organized by Comunidad Amijai and presented by YPF Foundation, was created with the idea of encouraging the study of music in young people, creating a cultural exchange between violinists from around the world.

The Competition's Jury is made up of prestigious artists of international renown, chaired by Maestro Shlomo Mintz, and integrated by international artists: Eduard Grach (Russia), Itzhak Rashkovsky (Israel / UK), David Cerone (USA), Kimiko Nakazawa (Japan), Vera Tsu (China), Rafael Gintoli (Argentina), Pedro Ignacio Calderón (Argentina) and Enrique Barrios (Mexico).

The 23 participants that will arrive to Buenos Aires for Competition, who have been selected for a whole year from around the world, are: Iskandar Widjaja (Indonesia), Francesca Dego (Italy), Sergey Pospelov (Russian Federation), Frederick Nathan (Uruguay), Ayrton Coelho Pisco (Brazil), Maia Cabeza (Canada), Soh-Yon Kim (South Korea) Stefani Collins (USA), Anne-Sophie Lacharité-Roberge (Canada), Jeremy Rhizor (USA), Jinjoo Cho (South Korea), Rachel Ostler USA), Paula Suman (Latvia), Miran Kim (USA), Nigel Armstrong (USA), Betty Zho (USA), Luis Eduardo Cuevas Sanchez (Venezuela), Nobuhiro Suyama (Japan), Artem Kononov (Russian Federation), Mariana Hernandez (Mexico), Dawn Wohn (USA), Kwun Hyuk Joo (South Korea), Xavier Inchausti (Argentina).

The event will formally begin on Saturday, July 10, 2010 with the opening ceremony at Comunidad Amijai, with the presence of jurors, participants of the competition, authorities, media and special guest, and will end on Wednesday July 21, with the winner´s Concert Gala followed by the Awards Ceremony. at Teatro Colon. In this occasion the winners will play accompanied by the Orchestra of the Association of Professors of Teatro Colon. under the direction of Maestro Mintz.

From Sunday 11 to Tuesday 20 the different levels of competition, heats, semifinals and finals, will be open to the public with free admission.

There will also be a day dedicated to tango in which the 12 semifanalists will perform, at "Tango Porteño" and also with free entrance, works by Troilo-Manzi, Piazzolla, Matos Rodríguez-Maroni, Gardel-Le Pera, Marconi, Plaza and Aieta, on transcripts produced for violin, bandoneon and bass.

Schedule of activities

Opening Ceremony - Comunidad Amijai
Saturday 10, 7.30 pm.

Qualifying Rounds - Comunidad Amijai
Works by Johann Sebastian Bach, Eugene Ysaye, Alberto Ginastera and Adam Skoumal.
Sunday 11, 10am to 1pm, and 5pm to 8pm
Monday 12, 10am to 1pm, and 5pm to 8pm
Tuesday 13, 10am to 1pm, and 5pm to 8pm

Semifinals - Comunidad Amijai
Works by Maurice Ravel, Leos Janacek, Karol Szymanowski, Bela Bartok and Niccolo Paganini.
Wednesday 14, 3pm to 8.40pm
Thursday 15, 3pm to 8.40pm

Tango Award - Tango Porteño
The semifinalists will play two tangos transcribed for violin, bandoneon and bass.
Friday 16, 2pm to 7pm
At the end of the day, six finalists and the winner of Tango Argentino will be announced.

Finals - Comunidad Amijai
Works by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Johan Sibelius, Niccolo Paganini, Johannes Brahms, Ludwig van Beethoven, Bela Bartok, Maurice Ravel and Sergei Prokofiev, accompanied by the Orchestra of the Association of Professors of the Orquesta Estable del Teatro Colon under the direction of Maestro Mint.
Sunday 18, 8.30pm
Tuesday 20, 8.30 pm

Comunidad Amijai, Arribeños 2355, Belgrano
Tango Porteño, Cerrito 570

Qualifying rounds, semifinals, tango award and finals: free access to the public. Space is limited.
Opening ceremony and closing ceremony: access by invitation only.

More information:

You Might Also Like