Polo: The 2018 Argentine Open Championship

3:17 PM Sandra Gutrejde 0 Comments

The most important polo tournament in the world, the 125th Argentine Polo Open Championship (Abierto Argentino de Polo), or simply "El Abierto", will kick off on Saturday, November 10th, 2018, with its thrilling Final to be played on December 15th. This tournament, held every year at the Cathedral of Polo, the Campo Argentino de Polo in Palermo (Av. del Libertador & Dorrego), brings together the best polo players in the world, and it is one of the oldest and most prestigious events in the international polo calendar. It´s also one of the main social events in Buenos Aires.

Tickets are on sale through Ticketek Argentina. Tickets may also be available on the same day of each match at the stadium's box office, except on the final dates which may get sold out in advance.

Don´t miss the opportunity of attending this world class event. Contact me through this Contact Form to inquire about special VIP HOSPITALITY PACKAGES, Polo Day Experience including specialized guide, or if you need help getting your tickets in advance.

Participating teams:

La Dolfina: Adolfo Cambiaso Jr 10, David Stirling Jr 10, Pablo Mac Donough 10, Juan Martín Nero 10. Total: 40.
La Aguada: Alejandro Novillo Astrada 8, Alfedo Bigatti 8, Miguel Novillo Astrada 8, Ignacio Novillo Astrada 9. Total: 33.
Alegría La Irenita: Fred Mannix 9, Juan Gris Zavaleta 8, Clemente Zavaleta 7, Matías Mac Donough 8. Total: 32.
La Dolfina Polo Ranch: Diego Cavanagh 8, Guillermo Terrera 8, Alejo Taranco 8, Ignatius Du Plessis 8. Total: 32.
La Ensenada: Facundo Fernández Llorente 7, Juan Britos 7, Juan Martín Zubía 7, Jerónimo del Carril 7. Total: 28. 
Ellerstina: Pablo Pieres Jr 10, Gonzalo Pieres 10, Facundo Pieres 10, Nicolás Pieres 10. Total: 40.
Las Monjitas: Facundo Sola 9, Hilario Ulloa 10, Guiller Caset Jr 10, Julián de Lusarreta 7. Total: 36.
Cría Yatay: Lerín Zubiaurre 8, Cristian Laprida Jr 8, Joaquín Pittaluga 8, Iñaki Laprida 8. Total: 32.
La Albertina Abu Dhabi: Francisco Elizalde 8, Nicolas Roldan 7, Guillermo Toccalino 8, Alfredo Cappella 8. Total: 31. 
La Cañada: Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario 8, Agustín Obregon 6, Sebastián Merlos 8, Jared Zenni 6. Total: 28.

FIXTURE (Results and updates will be published in red):

Date 1 - Saturday, November 10 - League A
1.30 pm: Alegria La Irenita vs La Ensenada
4.00 pm: La Aguada vs La Dolfina Polo Ranch

Date 2 - Sunday, November 11 -League B
1.30 pm: La Albertina vs La Cañada
4.00 pm: Las Monjitas vs Cria Yatay

Date 3 - Saturday, November 17 - League A
1.30 pm: La Aguada vs La Ensenada
4.00 pm: La Dolfina vs La Dolfina Polo Ranch

Date 4 - Sunday, November 18 - League B
1.30 pm: Las Monjitas vs La Cañada
4.00 pm: Ellerstina vs Cria Yatay

Date 5 - Saturday, November 24 - League A
1.30 pm: La Dolfina Polo Ranch vs La Ensenada
4.30 pm: La Dolfina vs Alegria La Irenita

Date 6 - Sunday, November 25 - League B
1.30 pm: Cria Yatay vs La Cañada
4.00 pm: Ellerstina vs La Albertina

Date 7 - Wednesday, November 28 - League A
1.30 pm: La Dolfina vs La Ensenada
4.00 pm: La Aguada vs Alegria La Irenita

Date 8 - Thursday, November 29 - League B
1.30 pm: Ellerstina vs La Cañada
4.00 pm: Las Monjitas vs La Albertina

Date 9 - Saturday, December 8 - League A
1.30 pm: Alegria La Irenita vs La Dolfina Polo Ranch
4.00 pm: La Dolfina vs La Aguada

Date 10 - Sunday, December 9 - League B
1.30 pm: La Albertina vs Cria Yatay
4.00 pm: Ellerstina vs Las Monjitas

FINAL OF THE 125th ARGENTINE POLO OPEN - Saturday, December 15
Winner League A vs Winner League B

*The schedule of matches is subject to change depending on weather conditions. Check for updates in case of rain.
*Note that because of the G20 Summit that will be taking in Buenos Aires on November 30th and December 1st there won't be any matches on that weekend.

You Might Also Like